Coming into the final of the Balearic Cup both Mallorca and Menorca Cricket Clubs had achieved wins against Ibiza CC, which gave a sense of real theatre to the Championship contest. Mallorca won the toss and put Menorca in to bat, thanks to an early breakthrough by opening bowlers Mohammed Shafeek and James Bodsworth the visitors were 27 for 2. David Nuttall coming in second wicket down joined John Grey and the pair shared a stand of 158 before Nuttall was dismissed by Henderson for 63. Grey was then bowled by Malcolm Leggett just one short of what would have been a splendid century. Henderson's 6 over spell claimed 2 victims for just 23 runs. It was somewhat mysterious that Shafeek, who had bowled his six overs very economically, 2 maidens, and only 10 runs conceded, wasn't brought back, however Menorca finished on a relatively attainable 220 off 40 overs. After tea the Mallorca openers Hijaz Yaseen and Eric George began steadily, but Yaseen was caught by Sharpe off Barker for just 11. Paul Heaton, 13 and Eric George 36, soon followed. James Bodsworth, who had been nursing an injury throughout the competition, and Shafeek looked comfortable giving heart to the home side, and putting Mallorca into a seemingly strong position. Then the axe fell, Bodsworth was controversially dismissed LBW to Davies for 46, which ended a stand of 70. Shafeek followed shortly afterwards for 35. The wheels began to fall off the Mallorca wagon, losing four wickets cheaply in a nail-biting finish and falling just 11 runs short of their target. Menorca's fielding was very sharp, they took their catches with some style, 5 in all. Barker was Menorca's most successful bowler, returning figures of 8 overs, 4 for 20, an excellent team performance which saw them taking the Balearic Cup back to Menorca yet again. The tournament was extremely successful, well attended by an enthusiastic crowd each day, and played in wonderful conditions. The season continues with April promising many fixtures, the first being April 3rd when the visitors will be Winton CC from the UK. Details of all forthcoming matches will be in the What's On column.