by Staff Reporter

BY late yesterday afternoon, there were just over a dozen town councils in Majorca, of the 67 which make up the Balearics, in the balance, pending on pacts between the different parties.

The new Mayors will be sworn in today, 20 days after the elections.
Among the councils which have not yet agreed on pacts are Llucmajor, Alaro, Campanet, Campos, Capdepera, Sant Joan, Ses Salines and Vilafranca.
The Partido Popular (PP) candidates who will be sworn in as Mayor today, after winning an absolute majority, are Catalina Soler (Felanitx), José Ramon Bauza (Marratxi), Antoni Gomez (Escorca), Tolo Jover (Estellencs), Carlos Delgado (Calvia), Biel Matas (Montuiri), Guillem Crespi (Santa Eugenia), Miquel Vidal (Santanyí), Antoni Mulet (Maria de la Salut), Pere Rotger (Inca), Jaume Crespí (Deia), Tomás Campaner (Llubí), Bernardí Coll (Mancor de la Vall) and Joan Rotger (Selva).

The following PP candidates will be sworn in as Mayor thanks to pacts: Antoni Pastor (Manacor), Jaume Isern (Bunyola), Martí Torres (Santa Margalida), Josep Oliver (Sineu) and Paco Boscana (Valldemossa), while Jeroni Salom (Binissalem) hopes to rule in minority.

The Spanish Socialist Workers Party (PSOE) candidates with an absolute majority are Francesc Miralles (Algaida), Bernat Coll (Lloseta) and Joan Ferra (Puigpunyent), while the following will be Mayor for all or part of the legislature thanks to pacts: Aina Calvo (Palma), Andreu Isern (Lloret), Josep Barrientos (Son Servera) and Pere Amengual (Muro).

As to Majorcan Union (UM), Joan Ribot (Ariany) and Bernat Bauza (Porreras) will be Mayor by absolute majority, while Miquel Ferrer (Alcudia), Rafael Gili (Arta), Arnau Mateu (Lloret), Jaume Perelló (Muro), Joan Cerda (Pollenca), Guillem Bernat (Sóller), and Joan Carles Verd (Sencelles) will lead the council for all or part of the legislature thanks to pacts.

In Ibiza, four councils will be led by the PP and one by the PSOE.
In Minorca, the PSOE and the PP will have three Mayors each and the Minorcan Socialist Party two.


To be able to write a comment, you have to be registered and be logged in.

* Mandatory fields

Currently there are no comments.