Madrid, Spain.

Madrid, Spain.


47% of Spain is now in Phase 1 of the de-escalation of the coronavirus restrictions, including Madrid, Barcelona, all the provinces of Castilla y León, the Valencian Community, several zones in Catalonia, Málaga and Granada in Andalusia and Toledo, Ciudad Real and Albacete in Castilla-La Mancha, some of them joined Phase 1 later than other Communities.

Health Minister, Salvador Illa met with all the Autonomous Communities and Ceuta and Melilla last week and after much debate he finally agreed to allow Madrid to progress to Phase 1.

Advancing in Stages

Towns and cities in the same province might not progress to the next Phase at the same time, depending on the rate of infection.

In Catalonia, Barcelona is now in Phase 1, whereas Camp de Tarragona, Alto Pirineo-Aran and Tierras del Ebro have progressed to phase 2.

The Valencian Community chose not to advance to Stage 2 after a slight rise in infections.

In Andalusia, Granada and Malaga stay in phase 1 but the rest of the provinces move to Phase 2 and in Castilla-La Mancha, Toledo, Ciudad Real and Albacete remain in phase 1, while the rest of the community progresses to Phase 2.

The Balearic Islands, the Canary Islands, Ceuta and Melilla have all moved to Phase 2.


The content of comment is the opinion of users and netizens and not of

Comments contrary to laws, which are libellous, illegal or harmful to others are not permitted'); - reserves the right to remove any inappropriate comments.


Please remember that you are responsible for everything that you write and that data which are legally required can be made available to the relevant public authorities and courts; these data being name, email, IP of your computer as well as information accessible through the systems.

* Mandatory fields

Currently there are no comments.