The health authorities in Switzerland have added Spain to the list of countries from which people arriving must enter a 10-day quarantine period to help curb the spread of coronavirus. Exemptions have, however, been made for the Balearic and Canary Islands.

Patrick Mathys, head of crisis management for the federal public health office, told a briefing in Bern on Wednesday that the measure will take effect from Saturday.