Police control in Manacor, Mallorca

Police control in Manacor.


At present, there are four regions of Spain which have not introduced restrictions on mobility between regions - Extremadura, Galicia, the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands.

Borders of the other thirteen regions have in effect been closed to all but essential travel. In most cases these orders apply up to November 9, which is when the initial phase of the state of alarm ends. Next Wednesday, the Inter-Territorial Council for the National Health System will convene and is expected to establish criteria for measures being adopted by regional governments, such as the period of time for closing borders.

The government in Galicia has stopped short of applying restrictions to its border but has imposed confinement on several cities, e.g. A Coruña, Santiago de Compostela and Vigo. Regions which have closed borders have also introduced confinements specific to certain cities.

In the Balearics, Manacor is currently the only municipality where the main population centre has been confined, while this measure is also being contemplated for Ibiza (the town). Margalida Frontera, the scientific advisor to the Balearic government, said on Thursday that it could be the case that ports and airports in the Balearics are closed to inter-regional travel.


The content of comment is the opinion of users and netizens and not of mallorcadailybulletin.com.

Comments contrary to laws, which are libellous, illegal or harmful to others are not permitted');

mallorcadailybulletin.com - reserves the right to remove any inappropriate comments.


Please remember that you are responsible for everything that you write and that data which are legally required can be made available to the relevant public authorities and courts; these data being name, email, IP of your computer as well as information accessible through the systems.

* Mandatory fields

Nigel / Hace 4 months

You can go and work during the day in Manacor and then return to "wherever you live", at night. Sounds like a good way to spread it about, but I am not a scientific politician so what do I know.