A charging point in Port Adriano. | Manu Gon

A pilot project for extending the use of electric vehicles in Majorca is being undertaken by the regional government, the Council of Majorca and ten municipalities. For the government, the agreement represents a process of integrating the necessary elements for electric vehicles to be promoted and for their benefits to be demonstrated.

The land, energy and transport ministry will implement a centralised management system for the network of charging points. This will enable drivers to use charging points regardless of which administration operates them. The ministry will also coordinate the process of promotion in order to develop the use of electric vehicles.

The town halls, for their part, will make charging-points' supply free for at least two years. These ten municipalities haven't been specified.

At present, there are charging points in 26 municipalities that are operated by various authorities, e.g. the town halls themselves or the likes of Endesa: Alcudia, Calvia, Campanet, Campos, Deya, Escorca, Inca, Lloret, Lloseta, Llubi, Manacor, Maria de la Salut, Marratxi, Palma, Pollensa, Porreres, Puigpunyent, Sant Joan, Sant Llorenç, Santa Eugenia, Santa Maria, Santanyi, Sencelles, Sineu, Soller and Valldemossa.